Skip to content

Online Bible Meets Social Networking?

September 23, 2008

Interesting post by Keith Fletcher.

Online Bible Meets Social Networking?

Sep 9th, 2008 by Keith Fletcher | 0
YouVersion website

YouVersion website

I can’t remember who sent me the link (or maybe invited me to join). I’ve been so busy lately that I just dropped the link for YouVersion.com into my blog fodder folder for future reference. I’ve poked around the site just a bit. Scott Cheatham and I were lamenting the dearth of Bible software for the Mac and/or Unix platforms, and both of us admitted that we’d just as soon use online Bible study resources as to install proprietary software and a bunch of ebooks on our laptops.

I’ve always been a big fan of Bible Gateway. From my cursory glance at YouVersion.com, I see that it has fewer available versions than Bible Gateway, but the interface is clean and easy to use, and it has image and video sharing abilities that BG doesn’t have, not to mention the note-sharing feature. I haven’t yet signed up for a free membership, but being able to share notes might come in handy, especially with a group of folks who are studying the same passage together. Think of it! You could have an online Bible study with folks all around the world. This could be a big encouragement for missionaries. I must find time to check this out. Anyone out there want to help? Any other sites that provide this kind of service for free? Comment on this post and let me know.

One Comment leave one →
  1. cstrupp permalink
    September 23, 2008 11:06 pm

    yeah great site, I use it a good bit now.

    http://cstrupp.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

