Skip to content

Fireproof Movie Endorsement

September 30, 2008

My wife and I, along with our friends Megan and Taylor watched the movie Fireproof tonight.  It was an amazing picture of real-life struggles couples and individuals face.  The gospel was presented in a very real way and showed true lifechange in the main character’s life.

There were a few plot twists that I didn’t see coming.  When I was in high school I worked for Carmike Cinemas. One of the perks was free admission to movies.  Needless to say, I have seen hundreds of movies.  This film was one of the few in which you could hear audience members crying openly.  The only other time I remember that was when Titanic came out.  All the death and frozen bodies caused many tears.  (Side note: Rose, don’t you think there was room on that wooden panel for Jack? )

Family organizations and churches are using Fireproof as a way to minister to congregants and the community.  Here in Chattanooga, First Things First has a booth at the theatre with materials on it describing their marriage seminars.  I think that is wonderful!

I am already hearing testimonies of families in our church whose lives have been changed because of this film. Kirk Cameron and all those involved are to be commended.  I encourage all couples to see this film and take another couple with you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

